Municipal code research
Alarm permit rules in 89 Southern California cities
Our original fourteen city table was read line by line from each city’s municipal code, not from a summary. The county tables below it summarize our guides for the other 75 cities, each researched from the city’s code and its police or sheriff department. Where a source is silent, the tables say so rather than guessing.
Across all 89 cities we serve, 46 require a permit, 6 a registration and 30 nothing at all. The other 7 either use something else, such as filing an emergency card or posting a contact, or our guide does not settle the question. Among the original fourteen, no two run the same scheme. Ten require a permit, one requires a registration instead, one asks only that you file an emergency card, and two require nothing at all. The free allowance runs from none to three. The counting period is a rolling year in some cities, the calendar year in others, and in two it is anchored to the date of your most recent alarm. In three cities the code itself sets out no way to contest a false alarm charge.
The practical consequence is that moving five miles can change the rules completely, and the assumptions you built up at your last address are unlikely to travel with you.
Residential burglar alarm rules, city by city
Read from each city’s own municipal code.
| City | Permit required? | Term | Free | First charged | Counting period, in the code’s own words | Contest a charge? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Irvine | PermitIssued free of charge | Valid indefinitely unless revoked | 3 | 4th | “within a 365-day period” | 10 days, to the Chief of Police |
| Anaheim | Permit | Not stated in code. Non-transferable | 1 | 2nd | “in any twelve month period” | No route to contest a fine. 15 days against revocation only |
| Santa Ana | Permit | Annual fee. Term not stated in code | 1 | 2nd | “12-month period ... determined by the date of the most recent false alarm” | Appeal to City Council under Chapter 3, notice within 10 days (Sec. 10-283) |
| Huntington Beach | RegistrationNot a permit | One year from issuance | Not set in code | 1st on the current fee schedule | “one-year registration period” | 20 days, to the Police Chief |
| Garden Grove | Permit | Residential: three calendar years | 2 | 3rd | “prior consecutive 365-day period” | 15 days, filed with City Clerk; City Manager decides |
| Yorba Linda | NoneNo permit, no registration | Not applicable | 2 | 3rd | “the same calendar year” | Yes, and no deadline is stated |
| Long Beach | Permit | Residential three years, commercial one. Non-transferable | 1 | 2nd | “The twelve (12) month period is measured from the date of a false alarm to the preceding twelve (12) months” | 10 days, written evidence to the Director of Financial Management or designee |
| Orange | NoneBut an emergency card must be filed | Not applicable | 2 | 3rd | “within a 365 day period from the first false alarm” | 15 days, to the City Council |
| Fullerton | Permit | A “permit year” running from issuance | 2 | 3rd | “each permit year” | 10 days, hearing before the City Manager |
| Placentia | Permit | Twenty four months | 2 per city alarm program | 3rd | Excessive: more than 3 in 90 days, 4 in 180 days, or 5+ in 12 months | None in the code. City alarm program takes written appeals within 10 business days, no fee |
| Brea | Permit | Through the following June 30 | 2 per the city’s alarm permit page | 3rd | Not stated for the fee ladder | No route to contest a fee |
| Costa Mesa | NoneNo permit, no registration | Not applicable | 2 | 3rd | “during a twelve-month period”, undefined | Three tiers: 10 days, then 7, then 7 |
| Tustin | Permit | Calendar year, expressly not prorated | 3 | 4th | “any consecutive three hundred sixty-five (365) day period” | 15 days, to the City Manager |
| Buena Park | Permit | One year (annual renewal fee per 5.08.290) | 3 | 4th | “in any consecutive period”, with 365 days used for the fee | 5 days, and the Chief’s decision is final |
Every other city we serve, by county
The table above is our original fourteen city study, quoted line by line from each code. The tables below cover the other 75 cities with a local guide. Each row summarizes that city’s guide, which was researched from the city’s municipal code and its police or sheriff department. “Not stated” means the guide does not cover that point, not that the city has no rule, so check the guide or the city before relying on it. In October 2026 we checked every row against the city’s current code, police department pages and fee schedules. Fee amounts change by council resolution, so confirm current figures with the city.
More Orange County cities
17 cities, from our city guides.
| City | Permit required? | Term | Free | First charged | Counting period | Contest a charge? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aliso Viejo | NoneNo permit in Chapter 8.34 | Not applicable | 2 | 3rdOCSD cost recovery set by County resolution; $209 per response in OCSD 2025 fee study | Calendar year | Not stated |
| Cypress | Permit$57 residential | Annual (tied to July 1) | 2 | 3rdRegistered: 3rd $70 rising to $500 for 8th+; unregistered from 1st | 12-month permit year | Written appeal to Alarm Administrator within 15 days of notice |
| Dana Point | NoneNo explicit permit in Chapter 11.60 | Not applicable | 2 | 3rdFee set by City Council resolution, Sheriff program | Calendar year | Not stated |
| Fountain Valley | Permit$25.75 per year, required even if unmonitored | Annual | 1 | 2ndWithout permit, $113.30 per response | Calendar year | Not stated |
| La Habra | Permit$50 new, $23 annual renewal | One year | 3 | 4th4th $101 rising to $496 for 10th | 12 months (code says calendar year) | Permit revocation: appeal within 10 days to City Clerk |
| La Palma | PermitIssued by Police Chief; fee set by council resolution | Not stated | 3 | 4th30-day adjustment period; alarm business must report new installs within 10 days | Any 12 months | Revocation only: appeal to City Manager within 15-day notice |
| Ladera Ranch | NoneCounty code has no alarm user permit | Not applicable | 2 | 3rdCounty rate $209 per response from July 1, 2025 (OCSD fee filing) | Calendar year | Not stated |
| Laguna Hills | NoneNo explicit permit in Chapter 5-52 | Not applicable | 2 | 3rdFee set by City Council resolution | Calendar year | Not stated |
| Laguna Niguel | NoneNo alarm user permit found | Not applicable | 2 | 3rd$209 from the 3rd (Res. 2025-1510, Aug 19, 2025); sirens stop in 15 min | Calendar year | Not stated |
| Los Alamitos | Permit$80 new, $35 renewal; seniors 65+ exempt | Annual (calendar year) | 3 | 4th$229 each from the 4th | Calendar year (code says 12 months) | Appeal to the City Manager within 15 days of notice |
| Mission Viejo | NoneNo permit; code sets equipment standards | Not applicable | Not stated | Not statedResponse agency sets penalties | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newport Beach | Permit$65 initial, $39 renewal | Three years (residential) | 2 | 3rd3rd $50, 4th $100, then up $25 each; revocation after 6th | Calendar year | Revocation appeal to City Manager within 15 days |
| San Clemente | Permit$40 per year | Annual | 2 | 3rd$85 police, $300 fire false alarm | Fiscal year (Jul to Jun) | Not stated |
| Seal Beach | Permit$48 permit, $37 renewal (FY2025-26 schedule) | Annual (Jul 1 to Jun 30) | 2 | 3rd3rd $138 to 6th+ $449; 5 in 12 months can mean no emergency response | 12 months | Administrative review under Chapter 1.20 |
| Stanton | OtherWritten application only for auto-dial systems | Not stated | 2 | 3rdFee set by council resolution; city may refuse response | 12 months | Not stated |
| Trabuco Canyon | NoneCounty code has no alarm user permit | Not applicable | 2 | 3rd$209 per response from July 1, 2025 | Calendar year | Not stated |
| Westminster | Permit$30 (city page; billing portal lists $40) | Residential every 3 years, business annual ($30 renewal) | 1 (warning only) | 2nd2nd $75, 3rd $100, rising to $300 for 7th and later | 365 days | Written request to Chief of Police within 10 days; deposit the fine |
Los Angeles County
40 cities, from our city guides.
| City | Permit required? | Term | Free | First charged | Counting period | Contest a charge? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alhambra | PermitAnnual permit; fee set by City Council resolution | Annual | 3 | 4thRevocation or suspension up to 30 days if over 6 in a calendar year | Calendar year | Not stated |
| Arcadia | Permit$40 per year | Annual | 2 | 3rdBurglary 3rd $200, 4th $300, 5th+ $400; 1 free panic; 7th disconnects | 365 days | Not stated |
| Azusa | RegistrationRegister with the Alarm Administrator before activation | One year | Not stated | Not statedFirst chargeable fine waivable via class; suspension possible at 4+ | Registration year | Written, to Police Chief within 20 business days |
| Bassett | OtherCounty rules apply (unincorporated); permit not stated | Not stated | 3 | No fee stated; 4th brings notice5th can lead to prosecution; violations are infractions | Any 12 months | Not stated |
| Burbank | Permit$100 | Annual | 2 | 3rdBurglary $175, robbery $225 each from 3rd; renewal waived if 2 or fewer | Calendar year | No fee appeal; may ask Alarm Officer to reconsider nonresponse within 10 days |
| Canoga Park | PermitCity of Los Angeles rules, $60 permit, $31 annual renewal | Annual renewal | None (one fee waiver per 365 days by course) | 1st1st $260 to 4th+ $410 (rates from May 4, 2026); verified response after 2 in a rolling year | Any 365 days | Written waiver request to Board of Police Commissioners |
| City of Industry | OtherCode sets no permit or fee amounts | Not stated | 3 | No fee statedMore than 3 is a public nuisance; 10 days to correct | Any 12 months | Not stated |
| Commerce | NoneResidentially zoned homes exempt | Not applicable | Not applicable (exempt) | Not applicable (exempt)Non-residential: fine after first 2 per calendar year | Not applicable | Not stated |
| Compton | Permit$25 residential, $15 renewal | One year | 3 | 4th4th $50, 5th $100, 6th $150; revoked after 6 | 12 months | Not stated |
| Covina | Registration$25, $12 for seniors 65+ and disabled | One year | None; 1st ($50) waived after online Alarm School | 1st ($50, waivable)Registered burglary up to $275 for 6th+; suspension at 4+ | Registration year | $25 appeal to Police Chief, 20 business days |
| Diamond Bar | NoneAlarm companies need a business license, not homeowners | Not applicable | 3 | 4thCharge set by City Council resolution | Any 12 months | 10 days, written evidence to the Sheriff |
| Downey | PermitOne-time residential permit, fee by resolution | One-time (residential) | 3 | No fee stated; 4th suspends permit30-day adjustment period for new systems | Any 12 months | Written appeal within 5 calendar days of notification |
| Glendale | Permit$158 residential | One year (free renewal if no false alarms) | 1 | 2nd2nd $130 (waivable), 3rd $267, 4th+ $361 | Permit year (ordinance says fiscal year) | Appeal within 15 days, $50 nonrefundable fee |
| Hawaiian Gardens | RegistrationRegistered with the LA County Sheriff | Not stated | 3 | 4th$50 response fee; $50 non-compliance fee | Any 12 months | Hearing with the Chief of Police |
| Hawthorne | Permit$125 new, $107 renewal | Permit year (Jul 1 to Jun 30) | 2 | 3rd3rd $70 rising to $349 for 5th+ | Permit year (Jul to Jun) | Written appeal within 15 days, by email or online form |
| Inglewood | Permit$53 initial, $16 renewal | Annual (calendar year) | 2 | 3rdHome may be boarded up if no responder within 30 minutes | Calendar year | In writing to the Alarm Coordinator |
| La Mirada | NoneNo alarm user permit in city code | Not applicable | 3 | 4thSheriff citations: 4th $50, 5th $100, 6th+ $200 | 12 months | Appeals section 9.06.160; confirm with the city |
| La Puente | OtherPermit rules not stated; audible alarms must post a contact | Not stated | 3 | No fee statedOver 3 is a nuisance; direct-dial to Sheriff prohibited | 12 months | Not stated |
| La Verne | Permit$50 residential | Five years (per code) | 2 | 3rd3rd $75, 4th+ $150; late permit doubles fee plus $10 a day | 365 days | 10 days, to the City Manager (suspension appeals) |
| Lakewood | PermitBusiness License Law permit; fee not stated | Not stated | 2 in any 30 days, then notice | Any false alarm after written noticeCharged for false alarms after notice of 2+ in any 30 days | Any 30 days within a year (triggers notice) | Administrative hearing; contest in writing within 15 days |
| Los Angeles | Permit$60 permit, $31 annual renewal | Annual renewal | None (one fee waiver per 365 days by course) | 1st1st $260 to 4th+ $410 (rates from May 4, 2026); verified response after 2 in a rolling year | Any 365 days | Written waiver request to Board of Police Commissioners |
| Manhattan Beach | Permit$61 initial, $30 renewal | Calendar year (expires Dec 31) | 1 | 2ndBurglary 2nd $190, 3rd to 6th $285 to $380; 7th suspends response | Calendar year | Appeal within 30 days |
| Norwalk | NoneNo permit or registration in Chapter 8.20 | Not applicable | 3 | 4thCharge set by council resolution; disconnection at 10+ | Any 12 months | Appeal to Dept. of Public Safety, then City Manager |
| Pasadena | Permit$39.54 per year | One year, expires each Feb 1 (fee prorated) | 1 | 2nd$181 each from 2nd; $163 penalty without permit | Calendar year | Revocation or nonresponse: appeal under PMC 5.36.130 to 5.36.170 |
| Pomona | PermitIssued by Chief of Police; fee by resolution | Not stated | 2 | 3rd3rd service fee; 4th to 6th add $156, $220, $256 | Any 365 days | Within 5 days, to Chief of Police (decision final) |
| Rosemead | NoneNo permit in Chapter 8.12 | Not applicable | 3 | No per-alarm chargeOver 3 is a nuisance; misdemeanor up to $1,000 | Any 12 months | Not stated |
| San Dimas | NoneNo permit or registration in Chapter 5.98 | Not applicable | 3 | 4thService fee set by City Council resolution | Any 12 months | Not stated |
| Santa Clarita | NoneNo permit in Chapter 11.05 | Not applicable | 2 | 3rdUp to 30-day break-in period for new systems | Any 12 months | Appeal to the City Manager |
| Santa Fe Springs | NoneNo permit or registration in Chapter 91 | Not applicable | None | 1stCharge by council resolution; disconnect after 10+ in 12 months | Not stated | Billing review by Police Services, then written appeal to Director |
| Sherman Oaks | PermitCity of Los Angeles rules, $60 permit, $31 annual renewal | Annual renewal | None (one fee waiver per 365 days by course) | 1st1st $260 to 4th+ $410 (rates from May 4, 2026); verified response after 2 in a rolling year | Any 365 days | Written waiver request to Board of Police Commissioners |
| Signal Hill | Permit$17 residential | Two years | 1 | 2ndBurglary $70, robbery $140 each from 2nd; 30-day grace | Any 12 months | Appeal to City Council within 15 days; deposit the fee |
| South Pasadena | NoneNo permit or registration in SPMC 20.50 | Not applicable | 3 | 4thCivil penalties $25, $75, then $150 | Any 12 months | Not stated |
| Sun Valley | PermitCity of Los Angeles rules, $60 permit, $31 annual renewal | Annual renewal | None (one fee waiver per 365 days by course) | 1st1st $260 to 4th+ $410 (rates from May 4, 2026); verified response after 2 in a rolling year | Any 365 days | Written waiver request to Board of Police Commissioners |
| Torrance | Permit$155 initial, $67 renewal; free if 65+ or disabled (residential) | One year | 3 | 4th$221 from 4th; no free panic or robbery alarms; nonresponse at 11th | 12 months (city says calendar year) | Written fee dispute via city alarm program; permit denial: 10 days to Hearing Board |
| Valley Village | PermitCity of Los Angeles rules, $60 permit, $31 annual renewal | Annual renewal | None (one fee waiver per 365 days by course) | 1st1st $260 to 4th+ $410 (rates from May 4, 2026); verified response after 2 in a rolling year | Any 365 days | Written waiver request to Board of Police Commissioners |
| Venice | PermitCity of Los Angeles rules, $60 permit, $31 annual renewal | Annual renewal | None (one fee waiver per 365 days by course) | 1st1st $260 to 4th+ $410 (rates from May 4, 2026); verified response after 2 in a rolling year | Any 365 days | Written waiver request to Board of Police Commissioners |
| Walnut | OtherPermit not stated; confirm with city | Not stated | 3 | 4th$72.50 each after the 3rd | 12 months (city page); code fee clause says calendar year | Not stated |
| West Covina | RegistrationFee by resolution, reduced for seniors 65+ | One year | Not stated | Not statedResponse suspension after 4th false burglar alarm | Registration year | 20 days, to the police chief |
| Whittier | Permit$24 one time | One-time, no renewal | 1 | 2nd2nd $97 rising to $229 for 7th; $57 late permit fee | Any 12 months | Not stated |
| Woodland Hills | PermitCity of Los Angeles rules, $60 permit, $31 annual renewal | Annual renewal | None (one fee waiver per 365 days by course) | 1st1st $260 to 4th+ $410 (rates from May 4, 2026); verified response after 2 in a rolling year | Any 365 days | Written waiver request to Board of Police Commissioners |
Inland Empire
16 cities, from our city guides.
| City | Permit required? | Term | Free | First charged | Counting period | Contest a charge? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Valley | NoneNo permit in Town Code | Not applicable | 2 | 3rd3rd $62.13, 4th $93.20, 5th $124.26, 6th+ $156.48 | Fiscal year (Jul to Jun) | No appeal; Town Manager may waive in special cases |
| Chino | NoneNo permit in municipal code | Not applicable | 3 | 4thCharge set by City Council resolution; bill due in 15 days | Fiscal year (Jul to Jun) | Not stated |
| Colton | NoneAlarm agents register, not homeowners | Not applicable | Not stated | Beyond set limitsOver 2 in 30 days, 4 in 90, 6 in 180 or 8 a year; billed at cost | 30, 90, 180 days and one year | Not stated |
| Corona | Permit$45 permit, $25 residential annual renewal | Annual renewal | 2 | 3rd3rd $80, 4th $240, 5th+ $320; unpermitted charged from 1st | Calendar year | Written waiver request within 15 days (city FAQ says 30) |
| Eastvale | NoneNo city permit in code | Not applicable | No fee set | No fee setCounty Ordinance 957 does not apply in the city | Not applicable | Not stated |
| Fontana | NoneAlarm companies need a permit, not homeowners | Not applicable | Not applicable | Verified response only$150 fine to alarm company per unverified call request | Not stated | Written request to City Clerk within 14 days, with deposit of the fine |
| Hesperia | NoneNo permit in municipal code | Not applicable | 1 (warning only) | 2nd (multiple response fee)Fee set by City Council resolution | No sunset; resets after 3 years with no responses and fees paid | Written appeal to Hesperia Police within 10 days (appeal fee) |
| Lake Elsinore | NonePermits eliminated by Ordinance 2019-1408 | Not applicable | 2 | 3rdPolice $120.58, fire $232.20 residential | 12 months | Written appeal within 15 days, with deposit |
| Norco | NoneNo city permit in code | Not applicable | None | 1st$175 per incident (fire code chapter; may not cover burglar alarms) | Not stated | Only the Fire Chief can waive |
| Oak Hills | NoneCounty rules apply (unincorporated); no county permit | Not applicable | No fee set | No fee setCounty code sets no false alarm fee | Not applicable | Not stated |
| Ontario | Registration$25 registration ($12 seniors, veterans, low income, disabled), FY2026-27 | One year, renewed annually | 1 (registered residential) | 2ndRegistered home: 1st free, 2nd $75, 3rd $297 rising to $322 at 6th (FY2026-27) | 12-month period | Appeal to Police Chief within 20 days |
| Palm Desert | NoneNo city permit in code | Not applicable | No fee set | No fee set | Not applicable | Not stated |
| Rancho Cucamonga | NoneNo permit in code (Ch. 8.26) or fee schedule | Not applicable | 2 | 3rd3rd $75, 4th $100, 5th $125, 6th+ $150 | Fiscal year | Not stated |
| Rancho Mirage | NoneNo permit; contact info must be on file | Not applicable | 1 per 30 days or 2 per 90 days | Beyond allowance$25 service charge per excess false alarm | Rolling 30 and 90 days | Suspension appeal to City Clerk within 15 days |
| San Bernardino | Permit$30, $15 low-income residential | Annual | 2 | 3rd3rd $100, 4th $200, 5th+ $300 each; unpermitted $200 to $400 | Any 365 days | Written request within 15 calendar days of notice |
| Temecula | PermitAlarm operating permit; false alarm fee by resolution | Not stated | Not stated | Not statedMore than 3 in 90 days is a nuisance alarm | 90 consecutive days | 10 days from invoice or notice; admin review or hearing officer |
San Diego County
2 cities, from our city guides.
| City | Permit required? | Term | Free | First charged | Counting period | Contest a charge? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| La Mesa | OtherNo permit; post alarm company contact or 2 contacts on file | Not applicable | 4 | 5thFee set by City Council resolution | Rotating 12 months | Written, to Chief of Police within 10 days |
| San Diego | Permit$31 per year | Annual (12 months) | None | 1stPermit revoked at 6th false alarm | 12 months after issuance or renewal | 10 days, to the Chief of Police |
Four regulatory models in the original fourteen
A permit
You apply, you pay, it expires, you renew. The terms vary more than you would expect: Placentia runs twenty four months, Brea expires every June 30 whenever you bought it, Tustin uses the calendar year and expressly refuses to prorate it, and Fullerton counts from your own anniversary.
A registration
Huntington Beach alone. The code says registration throughout, and the free allowance is not set in the code at all but by council resolution.
A filing, but no permit
Orange requires an emergency card on file with the police department and charges nothing for the privilege.
Nothing at all
Yorba Linda and Costa Mesa require no permit, no registration and no filing. The duties attach to the equipment and the property instead.
Things worth knowing that do not fit in a table
A genuine break-in can still cost you
In Tustin a response to an unpermitted system is charged “whether false or valid”, and Garden Grove allows a citation for any activation of an unpermitted system, valid or not. Tustin waives it automatically if you apply for a permit within thirty days.
Panic buttons are not treated like burglary alarms
Tustin charges for every manually activated false robbery alarm from the first, with no allowance. Santa Ana does the same for commercial robbery and panic alarms. Huntington Beach goes the other way and excludes panic alarms from the count that triggers suspension.
Only some cities give a new system time to settle
Costa Mesa exempts new systems for thirty days automatically. Huntington Beach grants thirty days on installation or takeover. Orange gives new users thirty days outright, existing users only on proof of an upgrade. Buena Park offers thirty days but only if you can prove two separate things. Most cities give nothing.
One city makes your alarm warn you first
Buena Park requires an intrusion alarm to sound an audible pre-alarm for at least thirty seconds before it transmits a silent signal. Of the thirteen other codes we read, none contains an equivalent requirement.
Not sure which of these applies at your address?
Each city name in the tables links to a full guide for that city, with the section numbers, the exact wording, and what it means for a system going into a home there. Or talk to someone who installs in all 89.
Request A
Quote Today
Getting started is simple. Answer a few quick questions and we’ll give you a straightforward, honest quote.